English Practice: A Billion

9 Th12


I haven’t used English for over 4 years, thus, I almost forgot how to use English in the way I forget my Rusian 15 years ago. This essay is to recall my poor English, somehow.

Please kindly help by correcting me in grammar and vocabulary when reading. Thanks your guys in advance.

A BILLION

Yeap. Exactly one billion Vietnam Dong is the total amount I have to pay for my workers salary lat month, not including tax, bonus, allowance and insurance. It’s gonna reached over that in this month.

What do I supposed to think?

“Someone said: “Money is blood”. A billion is how much of my blood that lost every month, without distinction of knowing how hard I have work to earn that much blood in a month.

Nearly three hundred men are drinking my blood, my precious blood. They are vampires and this is an evil. This is not fair, never comes fair to me, my God.

A billion can build a nice house which is fully equipped.

A billion can have two new cars.

A billion can bring me traveling around this beautiful world.

A billion can make my life much more comfortable.

The fact that I am losing a billion every month broke my heart.

I’m downing. I’m losing my hair and soon to be a bald man.”

Those said above seem like me. Surely not.

Then, what I supposed to think?

I am happy to have that money to pay every month. Next year, I’ll budget two or three billion for a monthly salary amount.

Three hundred men and their family are living with me, they helped me alive. Their hard working in my company valued me and my life.

A billion can build a nice house, but can not build a good company like what I am building.

A billion can have two new cars, but can not have me become a boss, a good boss.

A billion can bring me traveling around this beautiful world, but can not challenge me in the adventure of business.

A billion can make my life much more comfortable, but less valuable.

The fact that I am losing a billion every month is heating me up for a new month.

I’m exciting. I’m fostering my people and soon to be a rich man.

Those are what I really thought of a billion.

16 phản hồi to “English Practice: A Billion”

  1. Khuong Thuy Hanh Tháng Mười Hai 9, 2009 lúc 12:22 chiều #

    Càng đọc các bài của anh Phú càng thích cái triết lý sống của anh. Chúc mơ ước mơ về quỹ lương 2-3 billion/tháng của anh sớm thành sự thật.

  2. Lila | Thanh Tháng Mười Hai 9, 2009 lúc 1:41 chiều #

    So true. By fostering others you're also fostering yourself :)Love this: "The fact that I am losing a billion every month is heating me up for a new month."

  3. iceguyvn Tháng Mười Hai 9, 2009 lúc 2:07 chiều #

    What's your email address so I can send you my corrections?

  4. lvu Tháng Mười Hai 9, 2009 lúc 2:50 chiều #

    Haha, you have 300 men, meaning you are rich. You don’t need a billion, man. But I get confused here. I don’t think you lose a billion every month. Your workers bring you more than a billion/ month (I believe so)so you have to pay them back. That’s understandable. Your English is not bad at all. You English and your ideas are beautiful. I see only some tiny mistakes. For examples, do I suppose, not supposed. Or, in this sentence: “They are vampires and this is an evil”. “This” makes no sense here. What do you mean by “this”? You need not use past tense in this paragraph: “Three hundred men and their family are living with me, they helped (help or has helped) me alive. Their hard working in my company valued (value or has valued) me and my life”. A billion can build me a nice house; can have me 2 nice cars, etc (You lack “me”).Huhu, I want to do business, I want a billion.

  5. Galaxy6139 Tháng Mười Hai 9, 2009 lúc 3:29 chiều #

    Your English is not bad but you need to use it more frequently if you don't want to forget it ^-^ You have some grammar accidents there, hope "iceguyvn" help you to correct all of them ^^So why don't you try to write blog in English and Vietnam? That would be nice, because you can train your English as well as make your blog would become International ^-^Ah, the other things… >>> Don't think "you lost MONEY", you must think "you're earning MONEY" >>> Don't think "Nearly three hundred men are only sucking your blood", you must know "they are also creating your new blood with double or triple volume" (how much the "interest rate" is depend on how wise you are as their boss)

  6. Goldmund Tháng Mười Hai 9, 2009 lúc 4:01 chiều #

    Hì hì chắc bạn iceguyvn dễ thương nên gửi corrections cho môt số comments nữa!:) Mình viết tiếng Việt cho chắc ăn:)

  7. Đàm Hà Phú Tháng Mười Hai 10, 2009 lúc 2:20 sáng #

    @Hanh, LilaThanh: Thanhs hén@iceguyvn: My email: phu@khonggiandep.com.vn, please send me yr correction as details as possible. It would be much appreciated if you could give me your suggestion to make it better. Thanks a lot.@LVu, Galaxy6139: Thanks. You helped me much. I'll review and try harder.@Guys: This is the way I studied English myself without any school or teacher, your guys are my teachers. So far, it is quite good. I speak, I write then I ask some one to correct me.

  8. Anonymous Tháng Mười Hai 10, 2009 lúc 2:54 sáng #

    language brother fuss exceed, uncle right read numerous tense write new good tiếng anh nhắng quá, bác phải đọc nhiều thì viết mới tốt

  9. Lún Ghẻ Tháng Mười Hai 10, 2009 lúc 3:02 sáng #

    Hihihi, the Vietnamese- English is ssssssssssso different than American- English. I guess, each country has its own way to use English. I heard that Singapore has a dictionary called Sing-lish ( pls double check).I learnt English in Vietnam for 5 yrs b4 I came to the US. Non of my Viet- English made sense in the US. Hahahha. Maybe, if you use correct English in Vietnam, the VietNamese, who speak English r would not understand. Hahahhaha. pls do not correct this comment at all. My English is very very …suck.

  10. Lún Ghẻ Tháng Mười Hai 10, 2009 lúc 3:05 sáng #

    any way, I do not care how poor your English is. that is your cash I care. Hahahah

  11. Anonymous Tháng Mười Hai 10, 2009 lúc 4:23 sáng #

    Darn it. I'm about to say it but Lun said it for me. Your cash is all I care about, hehehe. I just wonder how much does it cost in US dollars if I have one billion Nong Duc Manh. :DThreeBeans

  12. Đàm Hà Phú Tháng Mười Hai 10, 2009 lúc 7:40 sáng #

    He he. I, with a hand from iceguyvn, has found some hundred misktakes. Thanks to iceguyvn. I'll review it again.

  13. Marcus Tháng Mười Hai 10, 2009 lúc 2:48 chiều #

    1 tỷ đồng có phải là số tiền bác quảng cáo cho cái báo ở trên cùng không? :p

  14. Lila | Thanh Tháng Mười Hai 14, 2009 lúc 12:35 chiều #

    Anh tự học mà viết như vậy là quá giỏi rồi. Dù là Vietnamese English, American English, hay Singlish, thậm chí viết bằng tiếng mẹ đẻ, em nghĩ diễn đạt ý tưởng để người khác hiểu được mình là quan trọng nhất rồi mới đến cách trình bày ý tưởng. Bài này là bài tiếng Anh đầu tiên trên blog anh em đọc được, lại có iceguyvn sửa rồi, nên hẹn bài sau em cũng đóng góp corrections 🙂

  15. Kan Tháng Năm 27, 2010 lúc 3:17 sáng #

    Dear ladies and disladies, hihi!I think the one who has to use English correctly is just like linguist, English teacher or those need it for a living. We re not native speakers then mistakes are less important than misundestanding that is the only thing we should take care of.

  16. Anonymous Tháng Bảy 2, 2010 lúc 7:16 sáng #

    Mr. Phú! Nhà mình có một quyển sách xưa của cụ Nguyễn Khắc Viện: tuyển tập văn thơ Việt Nam, bản dịch tiếng Anh. Mr. Phú quan tâm thì "hú" một tiếng, mình cho mượn đọc.

Trả lời

